DAYAL PATTERSON To Release Black Metal: Evolution Of The Cult – Restored, Expanded & Definitive Edition

Must read

Author Dayal Patterson is back with a brand new and massively expanded version of his 2013 book Black Metal: Evolution of the Cult, now dubbed Black Metal: Evolution of the Cult – Restored, Expanded & Definitive Edition.

“I first worked with Decibel‘s Albert Mudrian some 20 years ago when I interviewed him for my fanzine, Crypt,” said Patterson, also the founder of Cult Never Dies publishing.

“We’ve kept in touch since then, and Cult Never Dies and Decibel have collaborated on multiple projects, with us printing editions of their books for European readers and them creating U.S. editions of their books for ours. It was therefore a no-brainer that we would work together in bringing this mammoth new title to U.S. readers and we are extremely happy to have what is probably our most important title in safe and trusted hands.”

The new edition of Black Metal: Evolution of the Cult includes 120,000 words of new content (over 20 new chapters and 20 expanded chapters), over 60 new interviews (over 130 total), an eye-popping 80-page color photo section, vastly improved layout and a stunning new illustrated cover. Black Metal: Evolution of the Cult – Restored, Expanded & Definitive Edition is out this December via Decibel and is available for pre-order here (and here in Europe, and here in the UK).

Oh, and if you’re wondering who got interviewed for the book, here’s a quick list of only some of the artists:

  • Venom
  • Mercyful Fate
  • Bathory
  • Hellhammer
  • Celtic Frost
  • Sodom
  • Destruction
  • Sepultura
  • Vulcano
  • Holocausto
  • Mystifier
  • Blasphemy
  • Samael
  • Rotting Christ
  • Necromantia
  • Deviser
  • Agatus
  • Zemial
  • Tormentor
  • Master’s Hammer
  • Von
  • Mayhem
  • Thorns
  • Darkthrone
  • Burzum
  • Immortal
  • Emperor
  • Gehenna
  • Gorgoroth
  • Trelldom
  • Beherit
  • Impaled Nazarene
  • Cradle Of Filth
  • Dimmu Borgir
  • Les Legions Noire
  • Marduk
  • Dissection
  • Vinterland
  • The Black
  • Watain
  • Shining
  • Strid
  • Forgotten Woods
  • Bethlehem
  • Silencer
  • Forgotten Tomb
  • Lifelover
  • Graveland
  • Infernum
  • Behemoth
  • Hades
  • Helheim
  • Isengard/Storm
  • Kampfar
  • Windir
  • Primordial
  • October Falls
  • Enslaved
  • Satyricon
  • Ulver
  • Mortem
  • Arcturus
  • Fleurety
  • In The Woods…
  • Manes
  • Ved Buens Ende
  • Dodheimsgard
  • Sigh
  • Deathspell Omega
  • Mysticum
  • Aborym
  • Blacklodge
  • Black Witchery
  • Hecate Enthroned
  • Winterfylleth
  • Fen
  • Profanatica

Want More Metal? Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Enter your information below to get a daily update with all of our headlines and receive The Orchard Metal newsletter.

More articles

Latest article